Currently: reading

“…Unless we’re willing to push back and fight for what we believe in, the default becomes a state of scarcity. We’re called to ‘dare greatly’ every time we make choices that challenge the social climate of scarcity.
The opposite of scarcity is enough, or what I call Wholeheartedness. … at its very core is vulnerability and worthiness: facing uncertainty, exposure, and emotional risks, and knowing that I am enough.
… We’re sick of feeling afraid. We all want to be brave. We want to dare greatly. We’re tired of the national conversation centering on ‘What should we fear?’ and ‘Who should we blame?’
… courage starts with showing up and letting ourselves be seen.”

– Brené Brown, Daring Greatly

books I'm reading in JulyMy current reading stack:

  • Bone Black, by bell hooks: I remember hooks’ work from several English courses in college, but I’ve never read any of her books in their entirety. Wanting to read and listen to more marginalized voices, I looked up her work in our local library, and Bone Black was the first book I found. Looking forward to diving into this memoir soon.
  • Women Doing Excellently, by Paula Clifford: I picked this up at Half Price on a whim a few years ago, and I’m determined to finally finish it. Determined, I say! Ha.
  • Crossing to Safety, by Wallace Stegner: Two of the book-reviewing bloggers who’s reviews I trust the most – Annie and Anne – have both highly recommended this novel, so I picked it up recently and am really enjoying it so far.
  • The Writing Diet, by Julia Cameron: I started this one months and months ago, maybe even a year ago. Cameron wrote The Artist’s Way, and I really like that she gives practical, tangible steps towards less-tangible goals, like daily creativity and health. I’m about 1/3 through The Writing Diet, and I definitely agree with her basic premise that there’s a connection between discipline in your health habits and discipline in your creative habits. Discipline begets discipline, etc. I started this before we really started shedding pounds this year, and I’d like to pick it back up and finish it before the craziness of late fall kicks in. I need all the extra wisdom and motivation to stay on track health-wise and creating wise that I can get.
  • Daring Greatly, by Brené Brown: This was the first pick of our new little book club, which is a handful of local young professional women, and we were all excited to read it. I’ve got a month to finish it, and just finished chapter one today. I can tell that this is going to be one of those books that’s going to have me underlining like crazy and relaying half of the text to Garret in overly enthused monologues, ha!
  • The Defining Decade, by Meg Jay: Last week it was finally my turn on the list for this at the library, and I was pumped! Started it this weekend and holycrap. Dr. Jay has definitely been reading my mail.
  • The Luminous Portrait, by Elizabeth Messina: So much gorgeous work and wisdom all in one book – I’ve been working through it pretty slowly and taking a lot of notes. Hoping to wrap this up this fall as well. I especially love Messina’s story and vulnerability. I highly recommend it for creative types and photographers.

What are your reading!? Any favorites/recommendations from this summer?

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Currently: reading

  1. Daring Greatly is insane. I think I’ve underlined at least 25% of the book!

Comments are closed.