Whole strings of days

Sometimes I need to hear and believe something so tangibly that I’ll write it down, hold it. When I feel crowded in by fear or hurt, I fall asleep clutching my tired pink Bible, the one with all the enthusiastic underlining that I did in college. The one that’s been across oceans and back, with buckets of tears soaked in the tissue-thin pages. Sometimes, we just need to clutch truth, grasp onto life-saving words.

A rocky river bed in Oklahoma

Today love, hold onto this if you need to:

No season of your life is a waste.

Not a single solitary season. Not a single one.

Whole strings of days, swaths of them,
that felt like a total loss to us, or maybe just boring or blank,
I think that God’s deep and wide grace – His everlasting kindness,
His vast love for us, His knack for redemption in the face of hopelessness – can somehow, someday, redeem even those seasons, heal even those hurts.

I believe God can give us the unearthly gift of seeing what good, however small or tender or distant, was brought from pain.

If you’re in a bad or blank or unplanned string of days, feeling off-balance and a little wounded, grab onto this like a life-preserver: Father God sees you, sees this season, and none of it is a waste in His eyes. None of it.

May we have eyes to see the good in the unplanned, and may we have the spirit to accept that in others and in ourselves, a happy heart is still very much possible even in imperfect days.

“I will restore to you the years
that the swarming locust has eaten”
Joel 2:25

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good,
for those who are called according to his purpose.”
Romans 8:28

This entry was posted in Spiritual encouragement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Whole strings of days

  1. lovely, encouraging words! definitely work hearing.

  2. Annie says:

    Leslie, thank you so much for this. My life feels a bit unbearable this season — possible job changes, church frustrations, and friends moving to new places — but I know I am promised provision and care. This too shall pass, and in the meantime, I can learn from the desert I’m in. (The verse you shared from Joel is really just what I needed to hear today.) Thank you.

  3. debie grace says:

    Very encouraging. Thank you very much for this 🙂

Comments are closed.