My One Word for 2013: Steadfast

my One Word for 2013 is Steadfast

At the beginning of January, I was again hearing about the One Word concept: choosing one word that resonates with your heart and your vision for the coming year, and focusing on that vision instead of making new years resolutions. I didn’t do this last year, but it sounded like a good way to start 2013 and stay focused on bigger-picture growth.

Each year, my One Word stands as a touchstone: a reminder not of what I need to do, but of who I want to be.

It becomes the filter through which I make decisions; the home-base to which I return when I’m unsure which way to go. It forces clarity and helps me concentrate my efforts, energy, and time on intentional growth.”

– Alece at A Deeper Story on One Word 2013

And so, I started prodding around for a single word that I could stand on and jump off of for 2013. As far as categories go, we’re still in an in-between stage of life. And so when I look ahead over 2013, I see an opportunity to either be steady and faithful despite circumstances, or to be tossed about by passing worries and challenges, as well as passing creative whims and opportunities to do new things. I see the daily choice of faithful or faithless. I see the way I can tend to leave things incomplete, bouncing around from goal to goal, project to project if I don’t have well-defined priorities. I see a year full of opportunity but requiring both a dependence on the Lord and a focus on what He’s given me to do.

And so, I landed on steadfast.

When I think of 2013, this is where I long to grow: faithfulness. I want to be

Steady.
Focused.
Eyes on the prize.
Present.
One task at a time.
Doing things on purpose.

I want to live this year out a spirit that I can be steadfast because my God is steadfast. I want to be motivated, shored up by and filled up with God’s steadfast love. I want to remember that I can be faithful in my days through dependence on an ever-faithful Lord.

Surely the righteous will never be shaken;
they will be remembered forever.
They will have no fear of bad news;
their hearts are steadfast, trusting in the Lord.
Their hearts are secure, they will have no fear;
in the end they will look in triumph on their foes.

Psalm 112:6-8

When I was considering using Steadfast, I found this verse and it blew me away. Having “no fear of bad news”?! Yeah, I want that.

I often fear the bottom falling out. And it’s a big fat lie of a feeling, really, because in Christ we have security, forever. The bottom can’t fall out. The other shoe can’t really fall. Even on days when it feels like that other shoe done gone and left, the Lord is still our safety, security, and acceptance (!) every, every day.

Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.

1 Corinthians 15:58

So my prayer for 2013 is to be steady and consistent in the things that matter – relationship with the Lord, marriage, work, home, family, friends, church – and then also be faithfully focused and strategic in just certain creative endeavors – photography and writing.

I don’t want perfect or flawless, but steady. Unmoving. Utterly stuck in my dependence on the Lord and willingness to work hard in what He’s given me to do.

….

How have you felt about goal/vision setting for the coming year? I know I’m pretty late to the party on this post, but I wanted to make sure that I got it right. And let’s be real, I’m late a lot!

This entry was posted in About. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My One Word for 2013: Steadfast

  1. Pingback: February goals // January recap |

  2. The Girl D says:

    Someone I know chose this concept for the last few years and I like the idea of it, although I haven’t done it myself yet. (This year I’m doing 12 mini resolutions, a new one each month.)
    I like your word of the year – Steadfast. What an excellent point of meditation and reassurance. Faithfulness is the best of goals. Have a great year!

    I originally found you on pintrest – I think – and then followed your blog when I realized how wonderful it is. I don’t think I’ve commented yet. Nice to meet you. 🙂

  3. Thanks for stopping by! I like your idea of 12 mini resolutions. Sounds very doable and enjoyable, lots of variety throughout the year. And, thanks for the kind words! 🙂

  4. candress says:

    I also like the one word concept. I kept the same word for a couple of years in a row. My word was “fearless”. I am not sure that I have attained to that goal of being fearless yet, but it sure did help me through a horrible 2011.
    Thanks for sharing your word.

Comments are closed.