Little big things

fresh mint in ice water

Sometimes little things actually feel really big. These are some of the big and encouraging little things that are helping me abide, create and work hard this week:

  • Going back to Ragamuffin Gospel, even though I’ve never finished it all the way through. It’s like an incredibly rich dessert that you have to savor, slowly. Rereading the parts I underlined Senior year of high school and again sophomore year of college.
  • And chasing that book with the only appropriate music… some freaking sweet old-school Rich Mullins.
  • Fixing the same salad I’ve been eating all month: fresh greens from my garden, honey-crisp apples, shaved parmesan and grilled chicken. (I’d love to say that chicken is organic and all that, but it’s of the from-the-frozen-section variety. Baby steps y’all.)
  • Cold Tangerines.
  • Catching up with friends.
  • Ellie Goulding’s new song.
  • Fresh mint in ice water.
  • Listening to the thunder roll in this afternoon.
This entry was posted in Spiritual encouragement and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Little big things

  1. Shanna says:

    Listening to the thunder roll in here, over in Nashville, right now. The sun had just set when it started, and now I’m loving being cozy and tucked in at home while the rain falls. : )

Comments are closed.