This summer

“Summer afternoon—summer afternoon; to me those have always been the two most beautiful words in the English language.” ― Henry James

This summer has left some pretty distinct memories in my mind so far.

We’ve experienced an intense cricket infestation and a bizarre amount of rain and cool (for Texas) temperatures in June and July. We’ve loved settling into our sunshine-filled, roomier new place, and we finally have all of the rooms unpacked. (I’m typing this at my neat and usable desk!)

I got a whole weekend of alone time this past weekend, as Garret was off visiting a friend.

I guess I’d been itching to make myself exercise, because I worked out four times in three days while he was gone. That included a really weak swim that probably just barely qualifies as a workout. I also spent a lot of time reading What Alice Forgot, processing sessions, and eating an inordinate amount of pistachios and apples. All of that at once was so good for my soul. Unfortunately, our disposal and dishwasher are still broken, and my kitchen is a hot mess. This week is sure to hold much dish-washing.

This entry was posted in Everyday beauty and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.