What I’ve learned {31 Days}

{Just a reminder – don’t forget to enter the giveaway. It’s open until Saturday.}

greenTrees_Instax

Tonight, I’m weary of writing.

Weary of introspection and pushing and practicing.

This 31 Days adventure has been a very fruitful exercise in disciplined writing, but now I am itching to back away from the computer and take time to make things. Take time for working with my camera, sitting in the fall sunshine, designing our Christmas card, planning a party, taking on more design projects, and making homemade Christmas gifts.

I’m going to set aside some intentional time for evaluating, and taking more concrete steps towards the creative risks that I’ve been writing about this month. I’m ready for some action after this month of writing that has been good and hard and taught me much.

pinks_instaxWhat I’ve learned from writing 31 Days of Creativity Babysteps:

  • Planning ahead well gives you the freedom and cushion to be flexible and change things up when you need to.
  • Some posts will be better than others, and that’s okay. (Sounds easy, but on those late nights when I felt so dissatisfied with a piece, sometimes I had to remember to be okay with the time constraints of this project and just hit publish.)
  • Practicing being disciplined in your craft is always a good thing.
  • Sometimes you never know which posts will resonate the most with readers, and that’s okay, too.
  • Your husband is always more important than your writing. Duh, I know. Also, having an understanding husband is awesome.
This entry was posted in About, Words and writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I’ve learned {31 Days}

  1. Eryn Wong says:

    “Your husband is always more important than your writing. Duh, I know. Also, having an understanding husband is awesome.” <— 🙂 Nice one.

  2. Annie says:

    Your lessons from 31 days remind me of my own. I’ve loved this journey, but I am EXHAUSTED. I feel like the words are running out, and I don’t know what else to say. But, only four more days to go! We can do this! 🙂

  3. artboy68 says:

    I feel it already as well- I have 17 1/2 weeks left. Maybe I was a little ambitious? Nevertheless, it is creating a discipline in me that was missing before. Thanks for sharing!

Comments are closed.