Listen to the Pulls {31 Days}

All Faith's Chapel

All Faith’s Chapel, on Texas A&M’s campus, one of my favorite places.

“What in your life is calling you? When all the noise is silenced, the meetings adjourned, the lists laid aside… what still pulls on your soul?”
– Artist Kelly Rae Roberts in her book Taking Flight: Inspiration and Techniques to Give your Creative Spirit Wings

You know those certain moments in life when you get little nuggets of insight or clarity about your work or dreams or relationships? The tiny whisper of a new hope into your heart? That movie that makes you cry and stays in your mind for days? Those ideas that you have to feverishly write down so that you don’t lose them?

Don’t forget to really listen to those.

In Taking Flight, Kelly Rae Roberts discusses how to identify and gather together all those hints and clues in daily life that point you to dreams and change. Whether it’s an article you read, a song, an encouragement from a friend, a sunset, an ad in a magazine – compiling all those clues together can help lead you to action.

Similarly, Emily Freeman, in one of her 31 Days posts, recently wrote on the importance of noting what makes you cry:

“Why does it matter what makes you cry or tear up? Maybe it just means you’re overly emotional, sappy, too sensitive. Maybe. Or maybe our tears are tiny messengers, secret keepers of the most vulnerable kind, sent to deliver a most important message – Here is where your heart beats strong. Here is a hint to your design. Here is a gift from your inner life, sent to remind you those things that make you come alive.

What do you think?

{31 Days of Creativity Babysteps}

This entry was posted in Words and writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Listen to the Pulls {31 Days}

  1. JSD says:

    I think this is one of the most profound messages I have read! Thank you for sharing the book and the link with us. You are an inspiration!

  2. marylyn says:

    oh all faiths. i love you. and leslie.

  3. Two amazing writers I’d quite possible not have found without you~ I thank you.

    I look at my tears always with great interest, whether they come with laughter, sadness, bitterness, or even wonder. I know that my tears are threads to my authentic self. Tears are my minds eye telling me, “hey girl, listen up. I have something for you to see. There is more to experience than you’re getting by just passing by [the emotion] Stop and feel,”

    My Tears are the threads to my soul. My authentic self, I am discovering as I continue to dig.

Comments are closed.