Inspiration: Madeline L’Engle {31 Days}

I’ve been wanting to read more of Madeline L’Engle’s books for a while now, so a couple of weeks ago I checked out  Lines Scribbled on an Envelope and Other Poems from the public library. I’ve really enjoyed picking it up when I have time and slowly moving through the poems, which are all very powerful. Several more of her books are definitely on my wishlist!

To get us thinking about creative work and faith and life today, here are some wonderful snippets from L’Engle’s Walking on Water: Reflections on Faith and Art.

“But unless we are creators we are not fully alive. What do I mean by creators? Not only artists, whose acts of creation are the obvious ones of working with paint of clay or words. Creativity is a way of living life, no matter our vocation or how we earn our living. Creativity is not limited to the arts, or having some kind of important career.”

“The journey homewards. Coming home. That’s what it’s all about. The journey to the coming of the Kingdom. That’s probably the chief difference between the Christian and the secular artist–the purpose of the work, be it story or music or painting, is to further the coming of the kingdom, to make us aware of our status as children of God, and to turn our feet toward home.

{31 Days of Creativity Babysteps}

This entry was posted in Words and writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspiration: Madeline L’Engle {31 Days}

  1. Eryn Wong says:

    Oh, I like this so much!! I think I can relate to that…

  2. Annie says:

    I just finished this book a couple of months ago, but now I think I may need to re-read it all over again. I feel like L’Engle knows just what I need to hear.

Comments are closed.