Change it up {31 Days}

I think we’ve established in this series that stagnation is the enemy of creative progress. Moving forward is the name of the game.

When you get in one of those inevitable creative funks, there are a million different techniques and tricks to get back to creating often and effectively. Don’t be afraid to try something new.

me and camera

Here are some suggestions:

  • Try a medium you haven’t used in a while. If you’re an event stylist, try photography. If you’re a painter, try writing.  If you’re a writer, try sketching. You get the point. 
  • Type with your eyes closed. Call me a weirdo, but I love typing with my eyes closed. When I close my eyes, the rhythm is there more. Yes, I’ve been known to be at my desk at work, headphones on and swaying to some tunes, and typing with my eyes closed. Sometimes you need a little extra rhythm in your day, you know? I enjoy writing more with pen and paper, but typing with my eyes closed is one fun hack that I’ve discovered helps me.
  • Listen to some new music. I’m not as into music as some people are (I’m just not that cool!) but it does help me to find music that’ll keep me moving along during any particular day. Especially at work, I love putting on my headphones and floating through my work for the day with Sara Groves, Matt and Kim, He is We, Mumford and Sons, Christa Wells, or some Texas country. Designer’s MX is a great resource. (This is one of my favorite mixes there.)
  • Use a prompt. Writing, photography, or design prompts might not lead to your most fantastic work ever, but they will get you back on track and producing.

What creative hacks work for you? What kind of music do you like to work to? (I’m always open to music recommendations!) 

{31 Days of Creativity Babysteps}

This entry was posted in Words and writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Change it up {31 Days}

  1. Russel says:

    Is that an OM-2?

  2. Deafia says:

    I go outside and sitting and think what to blog, also I do meditate to help me to get ideas. Typing with eyes closed? Hmm… Maybe that’ll help. Who knows? 🙂

  3. I love that picture! Thanks for the creative encouragements. I am really loving reading this series everyday.

    • Thanks! Either Meghan or Sydney took it! And seriously, it means a lot that you’re enjoying the series. I’m still slightly surprised that I’ve stuck to it! 😉

  4. Annie says:

    I love music (I’m not cool enough to have great taste in music, but I love it just the same), but when I write I find it so difficult to write and listen at the same time. Often it has to be something quiet just subtly playing in the background. I’m definitely a “talk while I type” person — I sit in my office and read out loud what I write to help with editing and such — so music can hinder that a bit. That being said, I’m kind of loving Daniel Martin Moore this morning.

Comments are closed.