Find supplies and settings that help you create {31 Days}

my desk junior year

That is a photo of my desk junior year of college, during finals. Complete with Easter baskets, caffeine, a whole box of envelopes, and plenty of disorganization.  Brings back a lot of funny (and stressful) memories!

I’m sure we’ve all had that messy desk experience, and I know most of us know that the right setting is important to a creative’s productivity. Some people love noisy, distraction-filled places like coffee shops, while others must have quiet in order to work well.

So, it’s not a waste of your time to try out different spaces. Maybe you have a desk and a quiet room, but opening the window above your computer makes all the difference for your work. Maybe you prefer one coffee shop over the other. Maybe writing in your notebook on your front porch is refreshing. Figure out what works. There’s no one formula.

I think that there is also value in finding the supplies that work best for you. Using your favorite supplies can be another tool in your “motivate myself to create” toolbox.

The pen I’m writing with right now is black, fine-tip, gel-like. (I’m not very good at technical pen terms.) It writes smooth and fast, making it easy for me to write with an honest but also frantic don’t-want-to-forget-this rhythm. Rhythm is a big deal to me in writing and working.

The right supplies for you may be pretty, or they may be ugly. They might be popular, or old school. Some people swear by moleskins, but I’m a spiral-bound kind of girl. Everyone has difference preferences, so find out what is best for you.

What are your favorite spaces and supplies for creating?

{31 Days of Creativity Babysteps}

This entry was posted in Words and writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Find supplies and settings that help you create {31 Days}

  1. 30sdc says:

    I am still seeking for a good setup and a good time of the day. It’s a real problem. 🙂

  2. Great questions to ponder.
    For me the places are are many. Depending on my mood. And depending on my project and mediums at the time. That being said I love any kind of supply. Really. This is harder to answer. So let me just share with you and your readers that as a child when my first monies to spend were made available as my choice on spending I found my way to the neighborhood Stationary store. Today they are called office supply stores.
    Pens, colored pencils, markers, paper clips in all shapes and colors and…paper…oh how I love paper …..any kind of paper.

Comments are closed.