Inspiration: tips from The Artist in the Office {31 Days}

the book The Artist In The Office

I bought The Artist in the Office by Summer Pierre back in the spring, and I am so glad I did!

It’s an excellent source for advice on balancing responsibilities and creativity, being satisfied with your 9–5 work, and working towards your creative goals. My favorite part of the book is that it’s very realistic and gives you tons of tools to work in little, frequent steps towards your dreams.

The writing exercises throughout the book are really eye-opening and I’m really glad that I took the time to complete all of them. The questions Pierre asks are important ones that I’d never really consciously thought through. Also, the style of the book is SO fun! It includes tons of illustrations, quotes and humor. (My only issue with the book is the lack of page numbers!)

Here are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

“How we spend our days is how we spend our lives.” – Anne Dillard

“As an artist, you are always at work.”

“If we are dissatisfied with work, we think: “If only I could win the lottery and not work, that would solve all of my problems” or “I wish I could just work from home.” But the truth is, work, like anything else, is a relationship that requires our own participation. I assure you that if you didn’t have to go to a job every day, you would have a whole set of other issues that would come up.”

“Researching, preparing, or dreaming are all key parts of living the creative life, but like any career, if we want to make a living doing the art, we must eventually move beyond this first step, and take small, concrete actions.”

“If you can’t do your art—even a little—in the life you have now, with the person you are right this second, you may never do it.”

{31 Days of Creativity Babysteps}

This entry was posted in Words and writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Inspiration: tips from The Artist in the Office {31 Days}

  1. maxiecole87 says:

    Going to download that book now…awesome recommendation!

    • Great! Yes, I *highly* recommend this book! It helped me think through so many issues and was perfect for the season of life that I’m in right now. Saw on your blog that you’re going back to school for graphic design – that’s so awesome!!!

  2. 30sdc says:

    Dear Leslie,
    any chance to have this interesting book in PDF format ?

    cheers
    Matteo

  3. Pingback: Giveaway Day! {31 Days} |

  4. Pingback: Lunch breaks, humility and creativity {Post grad series} |

Comments are closed.