Kick insecurity in the face {31 Days}

First, some house-keeping notes. For the next three days I’m going to be at a retreat with my office, and I’m really looking forward to it! We’ll be out in the country, so due to a busy schedule and spotty internet, my next three posts will be pre-scheduled and I won’t be able to respond to comments very quickly. Thanks again for reading!

—–

“One of the reasons we fight insecurity is we’re comparing our behind the scenes with everyone else’s highlight reel” – Steven Furtick

Comparison kills creativity.

Comparison is something I think about often and have written on before because it is such a toxic problem.

Discontentment, envy, and insecurity lead to comparison, which breeds more insecurity. This leaves us fearful of taking creative risks, over-influenced by other’s ways of doing things, and blocked-off from vulnerable relationships by these self-imposed, hurtful walls.

I think that for many of us have this issue is exacerbated by being online often. There are so many online outlets where you can find creative inspiration, but sometimes browsing online just leads to inaction and unhappiness. That’s a big deal!

If one of your online habits frequently leads to comparison or insecurity, then cut it out.

my desk

This is something I’ve just recently started practicing regularly. Whether it’s a blog you read, photos you browse, or scrolling through Facebook—if it consistently leads to you comparing your life, relationships, possessions, or creative action to others’, CHANGE IT.

I’ve struggled with this, but even making small changes has helped. And you know what? You won’t miss reading that blog. You won’t miss comparing yourself to someone you feel like you’ll never be able to compete with.

And if you instead use that time and energy to create for yourself, that my friend is a win.

Tomorrow we’ll talk more about being selective in where you look to for creative inspiration.

{31 Days of Creativity Babysteps}

This entry was posted in Spiritual encouragement, Words and writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kick insecurity in the face {31 Days}

  1. Annie says:

    This is so true! Due to my own insecurities (though that’s hard to admit), I’ve had to give up Facebook and a handful of blogs I enjoyed. They were simply sucking too much of the life out of me; I found myself leaving not inspired, but annoyed at what I didn’t have, what I couldn’t do. It’s hard, I think, to differentiate on the internet what helps us and what hurts us. I wonder if all the inspiration really results in any doing. It’s certainly something to think about. Thanks, friend!

  2. 30sdc says:

    Inspiring yourself is not measuring yourself with measures of others

  3. Pingback: What 24 taught me |

Comments are closed.