31 Days

31 days

Do you think of yourself as creative?

Sometimes it feels like we believe a creative person must have mixed-media art flowing from their fingertips, while simultaneously blogging perfect words of wisdom, sewing clothes for their children,  and flawlessly decorating their home.

Instead of having such crazy ideals, I’ve decided to consciously redefine creativity.

I believe that creative people create. Period. 

I believe that creativity means using your personal imagination and logic to express ideas or solve problems through action and production. This does not entail meeting anyone’s standards. This entails listening to your own ideas and acting on them.

For me, most of my creative action involves either photography or writing. Starting October 1, I’m going to be doing A LOT of writing! I’ll be joining bloggers like The Nester and Emily Freeman in writing for 31 days along one theme.

Here at my place, it’s going to be…

31 Days of Creativity Babysteps!

31 days of redefining what being creative means, finding small ways to create on a regular basis, reclaiming your creative intuitions, using your creative skills to bless others in small but life-giving ways, and taking frequent babysteps towards your creative goals.

I am pumped about 31 Days!

I’ve started drafting some of the posts, and I cannot wait to share them with you all! October 1 will be here before I know it – I better get to work!

What does creativity mean to you? Have you thought about joining in the 31 Days fun?

This entry was posted in Words and writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 31 Days

  1. Annie says:

    what a fun (and helpful!) topic. i’m planning on joining in the fun, but i’m kind of lost as to what to write about. i think i’ve got it narrowed down, but i’m still mulling. we’ll see what putting on my thinking cap does for me… 🙂

    • Thanks, Annie! Your writing is so fab, I bet you can come up with a great idea for it. Also, I wanted to tell you that I really enjoy your weekly ‘Inspired’ posts – they always give me something to think about.

  2. I am looking forward to reading this series alot! I can’t wait to read all you have to say on creativity and creating!

  3. defeaman says:

    This is such a cool concept and very inspiring! I am an artist/writer and I struggle daily with creating. Great topic to take on and I look forward to reading your work!

Comments are closed.