Do you fight insecurity and comparison?

“One of the reasons we fight insecurity is we’re comparing our behind the scenes with everyone else’s highlight reel”
-Steven Furtick (via Compassion on twitter)

When I saw that tweet, a chorus of bells went off in my mind. I do that every. single. day.

store that reads "today and yesterday," in Brenham, TX

I think many of us experience this thought pattern, and I know the internet exacerbates it.  Every day I can now conveniently and constantly watch others’ accomplishments roll in, compare my lot to theirs, and then waste time in comparison and doubt.

I have friends who are uniquely creative, very successful, amazing at raising their kiddos, or any number of other successes, and sometimes I watch their highlight reels and feel so inferior, so behind, so incapable that I’m ready to plum quit trying.

corner in Brenham

And it’s a vicious cycle, because I then become more closed off, and therefore I don’t spend quality time with that friend and ask or care about their behind the scenes. So I never hear about the hard, hard work. The failures. The helping hands. The slowness. The lessons learned.

And, another side of the story is that it’s also my job to make sure I do more in real life and online life than just flout my put-together, shiny moments. I need to be honest, and share about my daily work and unseen failures some, too. I think it’s an important balance.

So let’s listen to, and tell, more than one side of our stories. Because the truth is, our behind the scenes stories are beautiful. Just as beautiful as any seemingly flawless success story.

What do you think? Do you experience that tendency towards comparison?

*That Furtick quote was from his talk at the Willow Creek Association Global Leadership Summit, but I couldn’t find the full transcript (or video). I don’t know if it’s available, but if you find it, could you add it in the comments?

This entry was posted in Spiritual encouragement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Do you fight insecurity and comparison?

  1. Christine says:

    Comparison is such an ugly virus among women especially. I am guilty of the envy it births, especially, like you said, when I read stuff on blogs and tweets and everything else on the internet.

    I like this post alot. And, P.S., you are a good writer and I hope you will hone that gift and use it to the glory of God!

  2. Danielle says:

    This was such a good word. Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. This is such a great remind and I totally second Christine’s P.S.

  4. That’s such a good quote! Love the insight 🙂

  5. Pingback: Faithfulness | The Straz Family

Comments are closed.