when in monahans, smize

Meghan and Sydney

Is there any other big endeavor more consistently and vibrantly life-giving than friends + travel? Tell me. Because this summer, after so many encouraging and memorable trips both big and small, I’ve remembered how important it is.

A few weeks ago we got to go on a trip to West Texas with Meghan (left, above), for us girls to go see Sydney (right) and for Garret to visit his good friend Petey. Long drive? Yes. Worth it? Heck yes.

Sydney has been on the other side of the world for the past year, so getting to catch up in-person was a blast. Megh had been to Syd’s hometown before and visited the Sandhills State Park in Monohans with her, but this was my first time and it was a really neat place. Hot, but neat. (And who cares anymore – it’s stinkin’ hot everywhere in Texas. Your choice is either stay inside and be a hermit or go outside and sweat your face off.)

Syd is also the queen of all things smize in my book. So, when she took us to the sandhills we took, oh, about a million pictures of our styled-up selves. Being girly and creative with good friends was refreshing. I don’t do that enough these days.

Syd and Megh at the sandhillsme at the sandhillsSydney and Meghan's model shotThat one above is one of my favorite pictures I’ve ever taken. Don’t they look fab?

Sydney and I at the sandhillsMeghan and I at the sandhillsSydney at the sandhillsMeghan sandhills

Sydney, thanks for being inspiring and fun. Meghan, thanks for doing so much of the driving (!) and being silly with me and Garret!

We’ve gotten to catch up with so many sweet friends this summer and it has proved to be a world of encouragement. I’ve definitely learned that even though after college everyone seems to fan out across the state/country/world, putting forth the effort to catch up with those real-deal heart-friends is worth it every time. (This is where I resist the urge to whine about how we still live in the college town. Resisting…)

I want to get better about putting proportionally more money + time towards these sort of trips. Friends are invaluable-and that makes even the longest of road trips worth it.

This entry was posted in Everyday beauty, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to when in monahans, smize

  1. snydeen says:

    It looks like you had a great time and the pictures are wonderful!

  2. Pingback: Outtakes and bloopers #1 {31 Days} |

Comments are closed.