Writing out your sighs

“All my longings lie open before you, Lord; 
my sighing is not hidden from you.”
Psalm 38:9 

double exposure trees

Sometimes just writing out your longings is such a relief. I can’t quite describe the feeling. It’s like popping a balloon, or exhaling after a long held breath.

So I’ve been learning lately how to tell when it’s time to take a moment aside during the week and exhale all those dreams and sighs and longings.

Some are real that I think are from the Lord, some I know are fueled or at least influenced by comparison and envy, some are dreams Garret and I talk about often, and some are big ideas I’ve had since childhood.

giving - portrait of Melissa holding bowls, 35mm film

And in that exhale, the breathing/writing seems to say yes, this matters. Your Father in heaven wants you to talk to Him about these. He knows your heart and you don’t have to hold it all in. Keep dreaming and acting on those dreams, but find your delight in Him.

“Trust in the LORD and do good;
dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.
Take delight in the LORD,
and he will give you the desires of your heart.
Commit your way to the LORD;
trust in him and he will do this:
He will make your righteous reward shine like the dawn,
your vindication like the noonday sun.”
Psalm 37:3-6

This entry was posted in Spiritual encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing out your sighs

  1. marylyn says:

    this post reminds me a lot of this post by christine. http://www.gracecoversme.com/2011/02/jar-of-hearts.html
    love you a lot!

    • Yes! I remember that post! Thanks, MLK!
      I’ve been thinking about the balance of dreaming + contentment a lot lately and trying to write about it without…. whining. I’m glad you reminded me of that post, because I think one thing I need to do is just gather together other folks’ wisdom on the subject, like Christine’s.

  2. snydeen says:

    Great post. I needed the reminder! Jenny (Raining Umbrellas)

  3. Pingback: More and less |

Comments are closed.