sometimes, running stinks

running quote

image via http://thefitway.tumblr.com

As much as I like and agree with inspiring words like this one – I think, for me at least, there will always be days when running just plain stinks.

I hear and read people talk about “runner’s high,” but I don’t think I’ve ever felt that. I’ve only been running on a disciplined schedule for about 6 months, so I guess there’s hope to find my runner’s high… maybe one day? Even though I accomplished my 10K goal and I’m committed to running a half marathon in the fall, running sure isn’t fun yet.

Just for kicks, and maybe some venting, here are my reasons why running stinks.

  • Sometimes you’re mentally absent. Your body is stretching and preparing to run 5 miles, but your brain is still at your desk, thinking about reports and typefaces.
  • Sometimes you’re physically off. Your brain is ready to rock and roll, but your body is all over the place. Slushy bladder, blisters on your toes, weak muscles.
  • Sometimes people yell at you from their cars. This rarely happens to me, but when it does I almost automatically break out my most hateful “WHAT the heck!?” face. When I’m running, I’m busy trying to BREATH. Don’t have time for shananigans like that.
  • Sometimes your calf muscles feel tighter than seems possible and walking only feels worse.
  • Sometimes the Texas heat makes your skin feel like a radiator.
  • Sometimes you get fairly discouraged about your pace because there’s a lady power-walking in the park a little ways ahead of you and you CANNOT catch up to her! (Kuddos to speed walkers! And also, you make me feel really slow.)

But at the end of the day, when you finish the run you feel accomplished. And when your endurance begins to build over the weeks, you feel even more accomplished. And when your pace actually gets closer to real running and less like jogging, you feel accomplished. So running stinks, but I’m sticking to it.

And, I’m really sore because I’ve gotten back on the wagon this week, after taking last week off. 5 miles earlier tonight and my body is already angry. Neat.

Sometimes, running stinks.

This entry was posted in Just for fun and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to sometimes, running stinks

  1. Keep it up friend! You are doing amazing. We will have to get everyone back together to cheer you on your half marathon.

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Jenni! Yes, we will need all the cheering we can get and getting everyone together would be wooonndderrrfull! Me and Megh still need to pick out what race we’re going to do.

  2. Meghan Gallagher says:

    yup. it really does stink sometimes. great job on running 5 miles yesterday!! i only had time to do 3 miles and the humidity was intense. way to be. sometimes its just about the commitment…even if its 4am. we are committed. haha! 😛 the summer will definitely be difficult but i’m so glad we can do it together 🙂

Comments are closed.