10K – done and done

All of us after we ran the race

Melissa (sister), me, Meghan (running buddy), Garret (husband), Lindsay (college roomie)

We did it! This past weekend, I accomplished another thing on my 25 before 25 list – I ran a 10K! We did the Blue Bell Fun Run, and had a great time. Meghan, Mel, and I did the 10K and Garret and Lindsay did the 5K. I ran it faster than I thought I would (73:20) and just had a really good time! The course was real pretty but also very hilly, especially the first 2 miles, and the weather was very humid. Yay, Texas. Thankfully, the race organizers had water stations at every mile marker, where I sure did take (short) water breaks.

My mom and our friends Jenni and Val also woke up early to come cheer us on and take pictures, which was wonderful! All in all, it was a great experience with great friends. And, Garret says he’s hooked and wants to train for another one. Woohoo!

Now my goals are to continue keep improving my pace, keep consistently running with Meghan, run in Texas in the summer and not whine constantly, and do a half marathon in the fall!

This entry was posted in Just for fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10K – done and done

  1. Pingback: sometimes, running stinks |

  2. Pingback: Grateful for 2011 |

Comments are closed.