25 before 25 :: 1 more down

#11 on my 25 before 25 list was “Go to Antiques Week in Round Top,” and now I can officially scratch it off the list!

colorful glassware at Round Top Antiques Week

Last weekend was my birthday weekend and I had told Garret in advance that what I wanted for my birthday was 1. a pink comfy lawn chair to sit in in the park during my lunch breaks and 2. a trip to Round Top Antiques week. Major husband points were earned, since he made both of those happen!

a beautiful vintage chair at Round Top

Isn’t that golden chair lovely? Round Top and Warrenton did not disappoint!

On Friday I took the day off and we headed out early to make the hour-long drive to Round Top. When we got there the crowds were light-ish, and the weather was still cloudy and breezy. By the time we left the crowds were beginning to get crazy and it was getting hott, so we were glad we’d gotten there early.

random vintage artifacts in Round Top

The above display of artifacts was beautiful. There was such a diverse array of wares and shops at Antiques week.

We actually spent most of our shopping time in Warrenton, which is just down the road from Round Top proper and as best I can tell antique-ing people of the inter-webs pretty much use their names interchangeably. There was everything from fancy antiques, to pottery and glassware, to junk, to handmade goods, to tents full of beautiful shabby chic decor. I was super excited about getting to visit the Junk Gypsy shop and see Marge! They had tons of great stuff.

Me with the Junk Gypsy shop in Round Top

Garret was such a trooper – he traipsed around field after field and tent after tent with me, even though he had a hurt foot! To be fair though, he did get a corn dog, some Shiner, and a fried pie out of the deal!

blue wares in Round Top

All in all, we had a blast in Warrenton and Round Top. We were pretty darn tired by the time we left, but it was a great experience. I wasn’t really looking for anything in particular, and we don’t have the room or money to get more furniture, so I knew I probably wouldn’t buy many things. There was, though, TONS of pretty furniture!

This charming yellow McCoy vase from the 70s caught my eye early on, and when we came back by on our way back to the car it was still there and I snagged it for 50% off!

a yellow vase in Round Top

So, here I am with some of my birthday presents. My mom gifted me loooovely Aveda rosemary-scented shampoo and conditioner. LOVE that scent. And, the awesome yellow vase from Warrenton. I also love the pink lawn chair Garret got me, but have no picture.

me and my birthday gifts

And… this is me when my mom gave me my gift early and instructed me to wait the two weeks till my birthday to open it! I was successfully patient. Love you, Mom!

me and a birthday present

The weekend also included a really fun dinner with sweet friends, pesto pizza another night, and some good rest. All in all, it was a seriously wonderful birthday that left me thankful and refreshed!

This entry was posted in About, Just for fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 25 before 25 :: 1 more down

  1. Rhianne says:

    I’d say your husband is a keeper 🙂 looks like you had amazing time!!

  2. Jules says:

    ANTIQUES!!! How awesome!! Glad you had a great weekend!! 🙂

  3. Sydney says:

    girl! i need to read your blog more often – it’s so good! and that yellow vase is so you =)

Comments are closed.