pushing through

Last week was an unusually intense one for our little family. So much work to be done. Garret staying up late to write papers and study for tests, me finishing up a project at work, Garret looking for a part-time job, me running hard to train for the 10K.

Tuesday was a no-good-very-bad-day for me, and the 3.5 mile run after work was a little rough. I just felt tired and weak and brittle and frustrated that I wasn’t running nearly as well as I had on Sunday at the 5K.

lake grass and boat

Wednesday was different and better, thank you Lord. Thursday was beautiful and sunny and my 5 mile run with Meghan was shockingly successful and encouraging. By that night, Garret was done with course work for the week and had done a great job on everything, and we could finally relax together before a busy weekend.

But, at one point on Tuesday I definitely did just breakdown and cry for a while. (I’m a weeper.) Eventually, the tears stopped, I half-heartedly wiped the mascara off my face, and made myself get dressed to go run.

Reflecting on the week, I thought about pushing through life’s tear-fulls and uphills and downhills. Thursday when Garret walked out the door to go to class, I casually said “Just push through it, then you can crash tonight.” (That’s kinda my motto when it comes to college and studying at all hours.)

old building in Texas

But that got me thinking that the “pushing through” concept is actually a pretty big deal. For me the phrase calls to mind exhaustion, sports, running, studying, oh, and my time as a competitive power-lifter in high school. (And no, I will not share photos of that – ha.)

But I think there’s more to it than sports metaphors. You have to have something to push towards, and for things to really work in the long-term it has to be something more than relief, sleep, comfort, normalcy. You have to have faith that there is something that matters enough for you to break yourself to get there. Something you believe in enough to push through the hurting and troubles and doubt.

By grace, we press on. When it feels like you have nothing to go on but sweat and tears and Word, press on. Roll towards the raw goodness of Life in the only One who truly gives life – complicated messy lovely life and one day unending life, so worth pushing towards.

“Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap. For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life. And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.”

Galations 6:7-9, ESV

I’d love to know, what are you pushing through right now? What makes it worth it?

This entry was posted in Spiritual encouragement and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to pushing through

  1. Jules says:

    Great post friend! I’ve been thinking about that….how on some days, it is like a battle just to get out of bed and go to class, or to make myself go and have a meal with a friend I don’t really want to hang out with….and how just pushing through things and doing my part to just be available for life, results in God proving his faithfulness. It’s worth it just for even the smallest chance to speak truth, or to know Him better myself through a conversation I have. I am pretty much the laziest, most easily discouraged person ever…and He truly is so good and faithful to work with even our weakest efforts.

    • Thanks, Jules! Love what you said, and I feel ya on being easily discouraged! Thanks for the encouragement about just making ourselves available for God to work in our daily lives. It’s too true.

  2. Chrissy says:

    Girl, I am there with you. When it seems like there is nothing else… everything is going wrong… I’m tired, sore, worn, weak… I find peace in John 16:33- “In this world, you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (paraphrase)

    Have a good week, sister!

  3. Erin says:

    this definitely meets me in a place where i relate fully today. i’m pushing through going to a school program 40 hours a week, driving an hour each way to get there, studying for the MCAT 2-3 hours a day, as well as trying to build community, have down time, and have the appearance of a “well-balanced” person on paper for med school apps. through it all, being where Christ has placed me to serve and be a witness to others is worth it. there’s nothing else that i would live for. His glory through my measly little life. some days i feel defeated and just feel like i can’t go on. but on days like today when i feel His blessings in my life and see His glory being revealed in them, the feeling is overwhelming. there is nothing better to push through life than for Him and Him alone.

    • Thanks for sharing that, Erin. Glad you are receiving encouragement during this season when you have so much on your plate! Praying for you today that Father will continue to sustain you through these days.

Comments are closed.