bits of life :: paint-dreaming, babies, tears

our guest bedroom

This is our guest room/office. I feel like I talk about it a lot? Oh well, I’m all about that yellow+grey. It makes the room happy enough, but now we’re thinking about painting.

Yesterday I saw this Young House Love post about their bold, dark teal paint color, I couldn’t help but think oohh… that might look awesome on the walls of our grey with yellow pops room (that also has lots of light with two windows). I may be crazy. When it’s painting time some day, we shall see. What color do you think would work in that room?

In other news, I’m guest posting at Oh What Fun – an adorable and helpful blog that I’ve followed since I started blogging – because sweet Ashley is about to have a baby girl! My first post (back when it was still cold outside!) was on Etsy finds to help chase away winter blues. (Fun memory – the first online giveaway I ever won was actually from Ashley!)

This spring I also have several friends having babies (my best friend is being induced this week!) and it’s been SO fun watching them prepare. And, I am utterly and unapologetically susceptible to baby fever. So, when I see an idea for kids’ rooms, sewing projects for nurseries, etc. – like this family portrait idea – I save them in my “When I’m a momma someday” Pinterest board. That may be odd, but it makes me happy.

Lastly, I very highly recommend this post from the Girl Talk blog quoting a Piper article called “Talking to Your Tears.” I’ve been emotionally up and down more than usual the past couple of weeks, and trying to work through the root causes while still tackling work 8-5 then laundry and dishes and blah, blah, real life like everybody deals with – it’s felt hard lately. The advice from that post was really life-giving:

So here’s the lesson: When there are simple, straightforward jobs to be done, and you are full of sadness, and tears are flowing easily, go ahead and do the jobs with tears. Be realistic. Say to your tears: ‘Tears, I feel you. You make me want to quit life. But there is a field to be sown (dishes to be washed, car to be fixed, sermon to be written). I know you will wet my face several times today, but I have work to do and you will just have to go with me. I intend to take the bag of seeds and sow. If you come along then you will just have to wet the rows.”

This entry was posted in Just for fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to bits of life :: paint-dreaming, babies, tears

  1. meghan says:

    i love that quotation from piper! thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Right!!?! I felt that it was really strong wisdom. And, it just felt good to read someone saying – hey, you have emotions and that’s normal and you don’t have to “fix” the issue right away. sometimes you just have to keep going, tears and all.

  2. 🙂 So glad you are guest posting! … hopefully she will make her arrival SOON!

    As for paint- our bedroom is grey & yellows as well- LOVE IT! I painted a dark grey only on the walls that had windows (2) in an effort to make the room seem bigger & then did a very light grey, almost white on all the other walls. Then I got grey dahlia wall decals from an etsy shop & put them on the main white wall to look like wallpaper. I’m really happy with it! (I probably should post photos, on the blog- I don’t think I ever did. Ooops)

    Anyway, every other place I’ve lived I’ve always done BOLD color, much like YHL. But our current house is 1200 square feet so I’ve done everything I can to make things look bigger which this time around means pops of color a-la accent walls & such vs deep saturated color on all walls in a room.

    Good luck!

    xoxo

    • Yes, I hope she comes soon too!
      Your bedroom sounds great! Love your idea of making the decals simulate wall paper. Yeah, I think our guest room is maybe big enough for a bold color, but I don’t know. We do have a lot of furniture in it, since it serves as an office, too. We will definitely go with neutral colors in the other rooms, I’m just itching to do something fun in there 🙂

  3. Cait says:

    just came across your blog! it’s fabulous! you have some great insight on your posts! great pictures! love this! xo

    • Hey, Cait! Thanks for the kind words and thanks for stopping by! I looked at your book list – 50 in one year is impressive! Saw that you had included Whale Talk. Chris Crutcher is such a great, intense writer; I loved Staying Fat for Sara Barnes, but I haven’t read Whale Talk. My mom is a high school librarian (that’s so cool that that’s what your getting your master’s in!) and Crutcher visited her school once to speak, and discuss his newest book with the students. I was jealous that I was away at college and missed it!

  4. Love the bed spread…it’s so pretty. I need to spruce up our guest room a little more…it’s looking a little drab lately.

Comments are closed.