funny things

Our engagement

Our hands; proposal reinactment.

Please don’t judge me too harshly, but I’m going to be honest (and try to do so without complaining) about some funny things that I’ve observed about being engaged in this day and age.

  • Facebook is all up in my business. According to the ads that appear on the side of my facebook: I’m probably pregnant (nope!), I desperately need a photographer (wrong!), and I’m in the market for hair removal (Creepy and none of FB’s business!). Those ads, while unsettling, sure do crack me up sometimes.
  • Sometimes people greet your ring, and then you. And I admit, I’ve definitely done this before too, so it’s not really something I’m complaining about, it’s just humorous. You see a girlfriend that you haven’t seen in a while and before saying “how are you?” she grabs your left hand and smiles and comments. Yes this is still fun for me, as I really love my ring, but it also makes me laugh inside.
  • For me, it’s nearly impossible to avoid buying wedding magazines. They’re just so pretty and shiny! And in 3 months I’m not supposed to buy them anymore! The magazine section at Barnes and Noble gets me every time.
  • Everyone’s default question for you is “So, how’s the wedding planning coming?” Not that this is bad. I know it’s a natural thing to say, and there’s nothing wrong with it. I’ve just learned to resist the selfish/grumpy urge that I have to say, “Well, it’s the same as the last time you asked me. It’s fine, but mostly I just want to hurry up and be married!” … because saying that to well-meaning friends would be rather rude. Again, I’ve probably asked people this too, so I can’t really complain. Sometimes, it just gets old. (And I’m going to try to keep this in mind during future conversations with engaged friends.) Also, I think I’d really prefer it if people asked questions about my upcoming marriage, and not wedding, since that’s really the bigger deal. But, again, this is probably nit-picking.

Ok, I’m done venting. Sorry about that. Back to regularly scheduled programming.

This entry was posted in Just for fun and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to funny things

  1. Oooooh, I remember those pretty, shiny magazines! I loved them! It’s funny – I didn’t care about looking at them before I was engaged, and I never cared about watching The Wedding Story on TLC before I was engaged. But that year between the proposal and the wedding? I. Was. Obsessed. With all things wedding. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.